Teacher Status Programme ( 4 Years )

Study the International Program in Education and Training and earn your QTLS (Quality Teacher Learner Status) . 

The programme is delivered by Skyline College and will take 4 years to complete. Each year you will earn 120 credits and on completion you will have earned 480 credits.

Entry requirements

For entry onto the Diploma in Education and Training qualification, learners must:


·        Hold a relevant vocational and/or academic qualification of at least the level above that of their learners and ideally a minimum Level 3 qualification in his/her own area of specialism.

·        South African Matric Certificate



Will I be able to use this qualification  in South Africa ?

·        Yes , you can use it in South Africa. Skyline College has partnered with accredited OFQUAL International awarding organisations that SAQA ( South African Qualifications Authority) will accept.  All international qualifications will be recognised by SAQA.


·        You can also use these certifications in DUBAI , CHINA etc where the demand is high.

Course Detail


Principles, Theories and Practices of Education and Training 

Create Education and Training Programmes 

Engage Learners in the Education and Training Process 

Plan, Allocate and Monitor Work in Own Area of Responsibility

Evaluate Education and Training Provision 

Reflect on and Maintain Own Skills and Practice in Education and Training 

Teaching Specialisms


Foundation Mathematics


Electives (Choose 3)

Combines Sciences (Physics, Chemistry, Biology)

Accounting and Economics

Business Studies



Society and Culture


The UK Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training qualification is equivalent to the Certificate of Education (CertEd). This Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training will enable you to apply for QTLS status and be a recognised qualified teacher. Teachers with QTLS can also teach in schools.

Qualification Structure

To achieve the UK Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training, learners must achieve a minimum of 120 credits; 75 credits must be achieved from the mandatory units in Group A, plus a minimum of 45 credits from the optional units in Group B.

A minimum of 61 credits must be at Level 5 (therefore a minimum of 6 optional credits must be achieved at level 5)

The learner will need to meet the requirements to be awarded the qualification, i.e. achieve the appropriate mandatory and optional units, as well as satisfactorily complete teaching practice.

Mandatory units: Group A

  • Teaching, learning and assessment in education and training (20 credits)
  • Theories, principles and models in education and training (20 credits)
  • Developing teaching, learning and assessment in education and training (20 credits
  • Wider professional practice in education and training (15 credits)

Optional Units: Group B

  • Develop and prepare resources for learning and development (6 credits)
  • Develop learning and development programmes (6 credits)
  • Equality and diversity (6 credits)
  • Evaluating learning programmes (3 credits)
  • Identify the learning needs of organisations (6 credits)
  • Manage learning and development in groups (6 credits)
  • Understanding and managing behaviours in a learning environment (6 credits)
  • Action research (15 credits)


The objective of the UK Level 6 Diploma in Teaching is to develop learners understanding of the theory and practice involved in education. It provides learners with an opportunity to engage with the challenges facing professionals and policy makers in their own country. It will provide knowledge that underpins the ability to work as an effective practitioner in the education sector. It combines both theoretical and practical knowledge in the education profession and will develop and enhance knowledge and skills in the areas of curriculum planning, effective performance, action research and development. Learners will be able to work in a variety of roles within education and/or management.

Entry requirements

For entry onto the UK Level 6 Diploma in Teaching qualification, learners must possess:

  • Relevant NQF/QCF/RQF Level 5 diploma or equivalent recognised qualification
  • Mature learners (over 21) with management experience (learners must check with the delivery centre regarding this experience prior to registering for the programme)
  • Learner must be 18 years or older at the beginning of the course
  • English requirements: If a learner is not from a majority English-speaking country must provide evidence of English language competency. For more information visit English Language Expectations page in this website.


Registered qualifications at RQF Level 6 represent practical knowledge, skills, capabilities and competences that are assessed in academic terms as being equivalent to Bachelor’s Degrees with Honours, Bachelor’s Degrees, Professional Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE), Graduate Diplomas and Graduate Certificates.

Qualification structure

The UK Level 6 Diploma in Teaching  qualification consists of 6 mandatory units, for a combined total of 120 credits, 1200 hours Total Qualification Time (TQT) and 480 Guided Learning Hours (GLH) for the completed qualification.

Mandatory units

  • Lesson Planning (20 credits)
  • Reflective Teaching (20 credits)
  • Management of Class Dynamics (20 credits)
  • Curriculum Design (20 credits)
  • Integrated Education (20 credits)
  • Technology in Education (20 credits)

Duration and delivery

The qualification is designed to be delivered over one academic year for full-time study, but it is also flexible in its delivery in order to accommodate part-time and distance learning.

The qualification is delivered face-to-face, through lectures, tutorials, seminars, distance, online by approved centres only.


course fee



monthly installments

Level 4 Education and Training




R 1350 x 10

Level 5 Education and Training




R 1420 X 10

Level 6 Teaching




R 1500 X 10

Level 7 Education Management and Leadership




R 1550 X 10